Jessica Cundiff, Ph.D

S&T ADVANCE Director/Principal Investigator


Dr. Jessica Cundiff is the founding director of S&T’s ADVANCE program, which began in Fall 2022. She is a social psychologist with expertise in the psychology of gender, stereotyping, and discrimination. Her research focuses on the psychological processes that contribute to social inequality, with an emphasis on subtle forms of bias that are often unintentional and seemingly minor, yet consequential. Her work aims to raise awareness about subtle bias and develop practical and effective solutions for improving social equity. Most recently her work has focused on understanding gender gaps in STEM participation and developing strategies for increasing diversity and inclusion in STEM fields.

Colin Potts, Ph.D

Dr. Colin Potts is Missouri S&T's Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. He is responsible for overseeing all academic functions at Missouri S&T as well as academic success, enrollment management, institutional research and data management, international affairs, and Curtis Laws Wilson Library.

Kate Drowne, Ph.D

Dr. Kate Drowne is a Special Assistant to the Provost at Missouri S&T. 


Richard Brow, Ph.D

Dr. Richard Brow is a Curator's Professor of Ceramic Engineering at Missouri S&T. 

Robert Marley, Ph.D

Dr. Robert Marley is a Robert B. Koplar Professor of Engineering Management. 

Melanie Mormile, Ph.D

Dr. Melanie Mormile is a professor in Biological Science, Geological Sciences and Engineering, and is the Chair of the Institutional Biosafety Committee.

Senior Personnel

Daniel Forciniti, Ph.D

Senior Personnel


Dr. Daniel Forciniti is the associate provost of faculty affairs for Missouri S&T. He is also a professor of chemical and biochemical engineering. 

The Internal Advisory Committee provides direction and guidance for developing S&T Advance initiatives and programming. Current members are:

  • Mehrzad Boroujerdi, Vice Provost and Dean of the College of Arts, Sciences, and Education
  • David Borrok, Vice Provost and Dean of the College of Engineering and Computing
  • Kathryn Dolan, President of Faculty Senate
  • Dave Duvernell, Chair of Department Chairs Council
  • Timothy Faley, Vice Provost and Dean of the Kummer College of Innovation, Entrepreneurship, and Economic Development
  • Daniel Forciniti, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
  • Kamal Khayat, Interim Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation
  • Susan Murray, Acting Vice Provost and Dean of the Kummer College of Entrepreneurship, Innovation, and Economic Development
  • Cindi Nelson, Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Nicole Roberson, Vice Chancellor of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer
  • Tory Verkamp, Interim Vice Chancellor for University Advancement
  • Steve Wunning, Board of Trustees representative

The members of the External Advisory Committee provide consultation and advice regarding S&T Advance project activities and progress. Committee members review Faculty Fellows projects and serve as consultants for the Department Grant program. Current members are:

  • Jeni Hart, Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Graduate Studies at the University of Missouri
  • Isis Settles, Associate Director of ADVANCE, Professor of Psychology, Women and Gender Studies, and Afroamerican and African Studies, University of Michigan
  • Abigail Stewart, Professor of Psychology and Women and Gender Studies, University of Michigan
  • KerryAnn O'Meara, former Director of ADVANCE program, Professor of Higher Education, University of Maryland College Park
  • Joyce Yen, Director of ADVANCE Center for Institutional Change, University of Washington


  • Sarah Johnson, Senior Office Support Assistant


  • Abby Wilson, Graduate Research Assistant

Lana Alagha, Associate Professor, Mining and Explosives Engineering

Andrew Behrendt, Assistant Teaching Professor, History and Political Science

Sajal Das, Curators' Professor, Computer Science

Mike Hilgers, Professor, Business and Information Technology

Kelly Liu, Professor, Geosciences and Geological and Petroleum Engineering

Kathryn Northcut, Professor, English and Technical Communication

Monday Okoronkwo, Assistant Professor, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering

Gayla Olbricht, Professor, Mathematics and Statistics

Shun Saito, Assistant Professor, Physics

Andrea Scharf, Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences

Bill Schomberg, Professor, Civil Engineering

Michelle Schwartz, Associate Teaching Professor, Teacher Education and Certification

Pourya Shamsi, Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ting Shen, Assistant Professor, Psychological Science

Dan Stutts, Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Joan Schuman, Teaching Professor, Engineering Management and Systems Engineering

Risheng Wang, Associate Professor, Chemistry

Kyle Wernke, Assistant Professor, Arts, Languages, and Philosophy

Kelley Wilkerson, Associate Teaching Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

Yishu Zhou, Assistant Professor, Economics

Muthanna H. Al-Dahhan, Curators' Distinguished Professor, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering

M. Emilia Barbosa, Assistant Professor, Arts, Languages, and Philosophy

Amy Belfi, Assistant Professor, Psychological Science

Brooke Bell, Senior Admissions Counselor for Diversity Recruitment

Simran Bhatia, Student Service Coordinator

David Borrok, Vice Provost and Dean, College of Engineering and Computing

Casey Canfield, Assistant Professor, Engineering Management

Kathryn Dolan, Associate Professor, English and Technical Communication

Xiaosong Du, Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Rohit Dua, Associate Teaching Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Cassie Elrod, Associate Professor and Chair, Business and Information Technology

Mina Esmaeelpour, Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Shannon Fogg, Professor of History; Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Arts, Sciences, and Education

Daoru (Frank) Han, Associate Professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Sarah Hercula, Associate Professor, English and Technical Communication

Gerry Howser, Associate Professor, Computer Science

Irina Ivliyeva, Professor, Arts, Languages, and Philosophy

Beth Kania-Gosche, Professor and Chair, Teacher Education and Certification

David Lipke, Assistant Professor, Ceramic Engineering

Kelly Liu, Professor, Geophysics

Julia Medvedeva, Professor, Physics

John Myers, Professor, Civil Engineering

Joseph Newkirk, Professor and Chair, Nuclear Engineering and Radiation Sciences

Felix Nyikwagh, Graduate Teaching Assistant, Technical Communication

Francisca Oboh-Ikuenobe, Professor of Geology; Associate Dean For Academic Affairs, College of Engineering and Computing

Gayla Olbricht, Associate Professor, Mathematics and Statistics

Daniel Reardon, Professor, English and Technical Communication and Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education

Clair Reynolds Kueny, Associate Professor and Interim Chair, Psychological Science

Jillian Schmidt, Associate Teaching Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

William Schonberg, Professor, Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering

Kristine Swenson, Professor and Chair, English and Technical Communication; Director, Center for Science, Technology, and Society

Robin Verble, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences; Director, Ozark Research Field Station



Missouri S&T’s ADVANCE program collaborates with many campus partners, including: 

If you are interested in collaborating with ADVANCE, please contact us at